Psycho-Pass 2 Review: I Guess It Can’t Be Helped

This is my first published review. If there is anything of concern to you regarding this, please do notify me. I’ll gladly accept comments and suggestions.

XXX

6.5/10

With a dystopian setting comes a down-with-the-system plot. This is true for a lot of cases. It is not that it is the end-all and be-all of all dystopian fiction. It is that if you want to move forward and present things in an uber-philosophical manner, this is the way to go. Psycho-Pass is no exception. And it incorporates this not once but twice (and with the possibility of a third time.)

Let’s cut to the chase. Psycho-Pass 2 is not as spectacular as it aspired to be although it tries (desperately). I can’t say I was disappointed either as I didn’t have high expectations for it. I was definitely brought in by the hype but the first season reminded me of how any follow-up can fall short (especially when the first season fell short itself).

A lot of viewers say that the second season is a carbon copy of the first. Not all of that is true. Like I said, dystopian settings don’t have much to go around with. When it wants to have a brooding and thoughtful tone (everything Psycho-Pass aims to be), the choices are limited. I can forgive the second season for having the same themes as the first simply because of Kamui.

Kamui may seem unoriginal at first. He and Makishima have the same goals about society. However, Kamui sets off having more drive and resolve to bring down Sibyl (or at least change it or know about its nature) although it kind of flipped over towards the end. Although not as charismatic as Makishima, he presents legit questions regarding the system. Somehow, I find him more likable than Makishima who only flaunted his educated humanist ass to put off other characters (and viewers). But both are unique in their own way and there is no reason to compare them.

Akane in this season is not as challenged as she was in the previous. If I were to say something nice about her, it would be that her development was decent enough, giving her more self-understanding and the ability to think outside the box. But that’s just it. So much potential is wasted for our beloved protagonist.

The same is true for the rest of the characters. In the end, they were nothing more than mere accessories the whole series can do without. They provided enough amusement the series can do well without. For instance, Ginoza, who received the full brunt of character development in the first season, was put in the backseat and casually thrown out the window. The characters relationships were not outlined and explored to their full extent as much as they tried to bring them out and the story never did anything to address this lack of trajectory.

Despite all its faults, the story provides enough twists to keep me watching when, to be honest, it was 80% all talk. It didn’t need all the blood and gun service and car chases to mask the lack of action. This leads me to conclude that the animation never did anything to make things better. I guess it can’t be helped.

I hoped that it would be smarter than the first season as I hoped that the first season would be smart. It aspired, tried, but never did it transcend itself. I sit here, pondering over the many things that could have made the whole series better. Psycho-Pass 2 gave only so much that in return I can give it a “good enough”.

 

Read at Tumblr.

XXX

What do you think of Psycho-Pass 2? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

